“From My Heart to Yours” Apple Cider

Painting by JONAS BRODIN

Hello you sexy beasts.  This beverage was so good, that I had to title the post after Laura Izibor’s song of the same.

Anyhoo, the other day I got an itch to make apple cider from scratch (no pun intended).  On the way home from work, I saw a guy on the corner of the street selling oranges so I bought a bag, then headed to the grocery store to pick up the ingredients I didn’t already have (namely apples).

For this you’ll need:

  • Apples (used approx 14)
  • 1 orange
  • Cinnamon stick (or cassia bark, which is what I had on hand)
  • 1 tbsp cloves
  • 1 whole nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup cane (piloncillo) or brown sugar
  • Colander
  • Cheesecloth

I washed the fruits with baking soda then quartered them, removing the core & seeds of the apples.  Plopped them all into my pot, added the the sugar, cloves, nutmeg & piloncillo, then water to cover the fruits.  After this, you really should just let it bubble away on medium-low heat for approx 3 hours.  As the fruits begin to soften, mash them with your utensil of choice (mine was a large spoon).  When everything is a pulpy mess, strain in a cheesecloth lined colander. 

The best thing about this, besides the tasty result of freshly made apple cider, is that your abode is going to smell so yummy.  You can enjoy this beverage warm or chilled. 

For my next batch I think I’ll add star anise & a little bit of ground ginger.  

Zhe following “From Scratch” adventure will be BACON!!!  Stay tuned people, and try not to fall off the edge of your seats.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

